It was a Dark and Balmy Night

Okay, dark, but not so balmy pic!

It is Sunday evening (8/4).  Actually, it is now Monday morning, but I wanted to write this post before I forgot all that happened.  Today was an interesting day. My friend, Autumn,  and I usually go to the movies and eat out and talk.  The times are fun and we like them.  She couldn’t go yesterday and I had promised to go to a MeetUp for Euchre at 6pm in a nearby area.  I invited her to go and she was all for it.

I told her I would meet her at our usual movie place.  It wasn’t very far from where we were going and we could ride together.  Read that as we would both get there and not spend all evening trying to figure out how I gave the wrong directions.  See, I was relying on my GPS.  It had gotten me there twice in the dark, but this was light and we were coming in from a different direction.

Anyway, I left at 4:50 to meet her at 5:30.  I got on the interstate and was nearly run off the road by a truck deal hauling 3 new campers.  Traffic was bad but he passed me and I was doing 70mph and he was in a truck/trailer.  He goes by and I continue on.  The guy behind me is very unhappy that I am doing the speed limit.  He doesn’t even seem to care that there are cars in front of me in both lanes.

Suddenly, the car in front of me brakes.  I stop, the guy behind stops with some anger.  Traffic on the Interstate is now averaging about 3-5mph and I am 9.5 miles away.  That’s almost 3 hours at that rate!  I figure the idiot in the trailer wrecked.  However, we pass him a few minutes later as he is in the other lane.  I am certain he was pleased at his progress just as was the guy behind me who is now, of course, in front of me because he shot around me 30 seconds before we all got stopped.  I did get a small “serves you right” in my head at the time.

Now, that we are stopped, I let Autumn know I am stopped, am late, and will get off at the next intersection (nearly 2 miles away).  This takes about 20 minutes.  The car in front of me has decided to weave back and forth between the lane and the emergency lane.  At about 1.5 miles away from the exit, he shoots down the emergency lane (illegal, of course).  The car in front of him did the same, but only about 1/2 mile back.  I turned off this exit only to find that the direction I needed to head in has traffic backed up about 1/4 mile.  I go the other way.  I drive about 1-2 miles, then turn my GPS back on.  It tells me to head to St Rd 37 and tells me I am on 141st Street.

I get to 37 and turn South and stop at the first strip mall.  Here I call Autumn and we decide she will meet me there as traffic her way is good and we will be closer to where we are heading.   After she hangs up, I change my GPS to head to our destination.  The arrow shows us about 3 blocks from there!

We go to the Euchre group at the bowling alley bar and there is 1 person!  She says she is the only 1 coming except for us.  I am thinking that we need to leave (I had a lot of thoughts right then, actually), but Laurie, the woman, calls her other friend in the group who comes over and the 4 of us play a few games and talk for awhile.  It was fun.

Autumn and I leave about 9:20 and decide we both need to eat.  We drive to an IHOP, have a wonderful meal, talk awhile, and I get back to my car just about 11:15pm.  Autumn heads home and I do the same.

Ours isn’t pink…how very…um…strange.

I have some problems seeing well in the dark, but nothing big as the night was clear and traffic wasn’t bad.  I decide to stop at WalMart for some groceries before going home, so I don’t have to go back out on Monday.  I get out and this woman tells me she couldn’t get in the doors.  I go up and there are 3 guys doing some construction work; gee!  Think she could have mentioned that!  I get one guy’s attention to see if the other doors (way at the other end) are open.  He opens the door and lets me in.  I thank him, get halfway down the first isle and realize two things:  First, I will have to leave out the other doors and walk back to my car.  Second, I don’t have a cart – they are at the other end of the store or in the construction zone.

The store is being remodeled and there are carts full of paper, boxes, and items everywhere.  Normally, I find empty carts in my way, but not tonight.  I finally find one and ask the ladies who seem to be working if I can take it.  They said it wasn’t theirs, so I grab it and put the few things I had collected inside.  Then I realize these women had on the store colors but are shoppers!  The guy behind me is the one who is using this cart!  I apologize to him and he, being very good, tells me to keep it and he will get another.  I thank him.

I get my items and walk to the other end of the store where the one line is open.  They are redoing the registers at my normal end of the store, making most of them self-checkouts.  Those, of course, are closed for the night.  I wait my turn, then walk outside, and head to my car.

It was, indeed, a dark and balmy night!

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

Just Joyfulness

Celebrating joy

Sascha Darlington's Microcosm Explored

Sascha Darlington emerges from her cocoon to investigate her world.

