Flash Friday Entry #37 – 100 words

Scott L Vannatter

@SVBookman – Twitter

. My entry this week for Flash Friday.  Click on pic to see the others (read mine first!!!).

“The Bet”

By Scott L Vannatter

_______________________

The couple looked intently at the photograph.

“That’s grandfather Glen,” said Trudy.  “It’s a picture of him on his first ride.”

“How’d he get that at 6 months old?” exclaimed Jerry.

“Well, see, his older brother, Jerome, could talk a bit and told his Dad that Glen could balance a full bottle on his head for thirty seconds.  they reached a better’s agreement, shook on it, and Jerome proved it to his Dad.”

“So, he won the bet?!”

“Yeah, …at least, he didn’t put the cart before the um goat.”

“Hm, or maybe…”

“Don’t say it!”

“Yeah, you could say he got his goat.”

“Bad, Tim. Bad. Quit smiling.”

________________________

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • thehappyhugger  On August 19, 2013 at 10:57 am

    You always write so well, Scott.

    Like

  • kindredspirit23  On August 17, 2013 at 8:18 pm

    Usually, that’s true! I try to go with the first idea I have that goes with the pic. I have seldom had trouble with ideas. And short pieces like this come pretty easy for me. I don’t go to win the contests (though that would be nice). I just try to have fun with it.

    Like

  • Indira  On August 17, 2013 at 1:31 am

    OMG, how fast you can write. I think you just see the pic and the story is ready in your mind.

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

Just Joyfulness

Celebrating joy

Sascha Darlington's Microcosm Explored

Sascha Darlington emerges from her cocoon to investigate her world.

