Movie Review: Gravity

I have been wanting to see the movie “Gravity” but have not had a good opportunity.  My friend and I did manage to go this evening (Sun) and there were only 4 of us in the theater.  It was great!

That movie is better watched that way because it is a quiet movie.  Space has no sound and they tried very hard to keep that going.  There was radio conversation and such, but, for the most part, it was unnervingly quiet.  When you see an explosion occur you almost automatically cringe for the “boom.”  Not so here, the cringe is wasted.

George Clooney and Sandra Bullock both did excellently in their roles.  I don’t like to give spoilers, so I will just say that George is the calm quiet one and Sandra is a bit on the nervous side.  Of course, he is the well-seasoned astronaut and she is the professor or doctor from a hospital environment.

I am not big on space, closed-in spaces, or being alone in a bad situation.  This movie whirls around all three.  When George talks about how beautiful the view is, I have to agree, but not if I was there!

The cinematography and the sound were done beautifully.  The special effects were glorious.  I know that the net has been a little rampant with “the errors” that were made; however, looking at the movie as a whole, those very small errors were, basically, unnoticeable and did not detract from the film at all.

Space movies are a special breed, I think.  I loved “Aliens” and the “Star Trek” movies, old and new.  I guess I am going to have to put “Gravity” in with those excellent films.  It didn’t quite take my breath away, but it did have me squirming and sitting on the edge of my seat.

Go see it!  You will like it!  I give it 4 1/2 stars.

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Cafe  On October 23, 2013 at 5:26 pm

    What do you think about saving this for the small screen? Or does it need to be watched in a theatre for the full effect?

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On October 24, 2013 at 1:21 am

      It was really cool on the big screen, but if you watch it in the near dark to get the full effect, I think you would be okay. So, better – yes, but small will work.
      The big screen definitely made space look huge.

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Recovering Know It All

The Man who Learned Too Much and Lived to Tell

lifexperimentblog

Sharing my experiences with all life's experiments!

Two Brits In Spain

A Lifestyle Blog, Written And Produced By An Expat Quirk

Temple Fitness

" Your body is your temple"

slicethelife

hold a mirror up to life.....are there layers you can see?

Neal's Epiphany

Word's I live by

