Hey, Schools: First Do No Harm

stock-photo-3405731-stack-of-books-on-green-grass

Standard license accepted use.

Something sickening at our schools   <<<<Click for 7 minute Video

When I watched this video, I was surprised at some parts and shocked at others.  There were some parts that did not surprise me.  I have seen a lot of this coming, I suppose, in my years of teaching.  This is one reason, though, that I am not sad about no longer teaching; I can see the writing on the wall.  There is a war, of sorts, coming.  It’s plain when you watch videos like these.  What did surprise me the most was that Indiana, my state, does not have legislation against these practices.

My school experience was one in which I taught a pulled-out segment of students.  These students had a history of causing trouble in classrooms and we spent a lot of time calming students down and working with them.  We seldom touched students at all, and those times were to put a hand on their shoulder or to tap them to get their attention if needed.  We would call administration or  security when there was a bigger problem.  Even the police very seldom did anything strong-armed.  Only when everything else had been exhausted did they restrain the student.

The year (perhaps, two) after I had to stop teaching, the program I taught in school was integrated back into mainstream education.  I do not know how that went.  I do not even know if that is still going on.  But, I see problems with mainstreaming; just my opinion.  It’s a difficult thing to work with.  You have students that are so much trouble that you need to have them outside of the regular classrooms so the other students do not lose teaching time.  Then you have the complaints that the students who are pulled out are not getting the quality time the other students receive.  It’s not a win-win, it’s a lose situation.  I see no good way to handle both sides equally.

In the end, I believe, we will be forced to form an entirely new way of educating children.  Good? Bad?  I don’t know.  The history of education I have read about seems to reel from one thing to another and use “research” to back it up.  Sometimes, I think a little more common sense could prevail if people and government were willing to work it through and really pay attention to both what is happening and what happens during the change, then refine, do not start over unless it is truly called for.  The people running education now at the State and National levels are, in my opinion, not battle-tested qualified to do what they do in creating the legislation over education.  My opinion is that they are “arm-chair” quarterbacks, instead.

Not certain just what the answer is, but, it seems to me, that we are pulling farther behind rather than closer.

What do you think of today’s education?

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

Iain Kelly

Fiction Writing

contemplateandintimate

Quick reviews so you can spend more time reading, cooking, or living.

Sip Of Wellness

Sip by sip guide to live well

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

