Happy New Year?

Add your own question mark (?) source: http://www.sxc.hu/photo/1396134

Well, I am giving Carolyn the night off.  This was the date for part 5 of the longer story, but I am sick and don’t feel I would do the story justice right now.  I almost didn’t even do a post tonight, but felt this would be okay.

I gave the title of the post a question mark because of all that has happened since the first (and it’s only the 7th).

First, I didn’t even make any New Year’s resolutions this year.  I did not feel like it.

Second, My New Year’s Day dinner went well as usual, but I didn’t get to sleep until after 5am New Year’s Day and because of that, mostly, I am now sick.  I haven’t been sick in over 3 years.  It was the stress, the lack of sleep, and the fact that 3 other people didn’t feel well.  I am better now, but not well.

Then, in the middle of it, we have this…S-N-O-W.  As I look at my driveway, right now I have about 15″ of snow filling it and about 10″ on my car.  With the weather being -11 last time I checked, I am in until better weather on Friday.  Of course, then we are to get more snow on Sunday!

Monday, when all this hit, my electricity went off from 7:12pm to about 2:05am.  I solved this problem by going to bed at 7, covering in 4 blankets, a sheet, and wearing a sweatshirt.  I did not get cold unless I got up.  I worried Dad and Mom who just don’t seem to understand that while they can leave me a message on my phone (not my cell), it is stored at Comcast and not to where I can hear it when the electricity is out.  I live in a dead zone, so cell phone is reduced to texts and they don’t have a cell.  So, they got really worried because they knew I was sick and didn’t answer the phone.  In fact, they called the Police and had them come to my house to check on me.  I was fine (except cold because at 11pm I had to get up to answer the door) and I told them I would call and let them know I was fine.  My fault, I should have done that earlier while the battery was still going.  Anyway, had to text Sis and my Niece and have them call and let them know.  Whoo!!!

All seems good now, except that I spent the entire day (9am-6:30pm) on the couch (where I also slept last night) watching 5 movies.  While it’s nice to do that once in awhile, then I was all pent up and did most of the dishes and cleaned a bit and showered around 7pm.

My neighbor called today and asked if they could park at the end of my drive as their parking was shoveled over.  I said yes.  My neighbor across the drive came over to ask me to let them know they were blocking his drive.  I checked and there were two vehicles parked there and I assumed it was the other neighbors who had not asked.  He went over in a huff and got mad at them and it was my first neighbor’s best friend who had come over to help them.  What a tangled web!

So, we will probably go back to Carolyn’s adventures for the prompts tomorrow through Friday and I will plan on the 5 large installment next Tuesday.

As Zoe keeps saying:  “There is Hope!” I certainly hope so!

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • jmmcdowell  On January 9, 2014 at 4:46 pm

    I hope you’re feeling better! And may this winter turn the corner for the milder now.

    Like

  • Indira  On January 9, 2014 at 8:38 am

    Wish you good health. I hope you are lot better now.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On January 9, 2014 at 1:12 pm

      I am better, but still should probably go to doctor if I can get my drive cleared and the car cleaned off.
      🙂

      Like

  • Becki Duckworth  On January 7, 2014 at 10:27 pm

    Wow , Scott that’s a lot going on. First and foremost get feeling better. I talked to a couple of cousins in Illinois, they both were without power for over 15 hours. I do not miss that weather. Wishing you well.

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

Neil MacDonald Author

A writer's journey

Blog Me This....

A few of my random thoughts from my journey

Life lessons

This site is all about enlightenment

UpLift Girl

...a girl's guide to navigating the crazy journey of life and faith.

The Step Back

Accepted wisdom is an oxymoron. Challenge your assumptions.

Jellico's Stationhouse

Come on in and sit a while...

priorhouse blog

Photos, art - and a little bit of LIT.

Trent's World (the Blog)

Random Ramblings and Reviews from Trent P. McDonald

