A Change Visits Me and Reminds Me

source: Flickr (free to use)

This will be a fairly short post tonight.  For those of you expecting and looking forward to another part of the Carolyn adventure, I apologize.  I am not very sick; the antibiotics have done their work.  I am still a bit congested and on the coughing side, but, otherwise, I am good to go.

No, the problem this time came with a small shock that I received on Facebook last night.  I was playing Words with Friends and I received a private message from a teacher I used to work with.  She wanted me to know that one of the students I had in class passed away.  Now, for those of you who have not followed me from the start, I need to tell you a couple of things:  First, I taught a rough bunch.  They were the problem children of the school systems; many were bussed in from other schools.  Most of them swore, many stole, many had had previous problems with the law.  They were, without a doubt, very difficult to manage on good days.  Second, I love each and every one of them.  I liked all but a couple, and I tried to like those.  Third, we had a connection that was very close in many cases.  I made it a point to work hard with the most difficult ones.  This student was one of those.  He was very likeable, just had many issues and problems.

His passing caught me way off-guard.  You have those ideals in mind when you have your own children that they should outlive you.  You should not have to bury your children.  These were much younger than my children.  And, in case of point, they were my children, at least, for awhile.  I met with their guardians; I discussed lessons with them; I helped them to achieve things, some of which they did not think they could do.  In short, I had invested much time and effort in each one of them.

So, tonight, instead of writing about death and the end of the world, I encourage you to hug your children a little tighter and to make certain you know what’s going on in their lives as well as how their health is.  Above all, make sure you tell them how much you love them.  My children and my students did always know that.  No regrets there.

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • bert0001  On January 28, 2014 at 8:51 am

    I feel your shoes. I know how it’d feel. I know the time I invest in my students, and although you don’t see them for many years, that connection always remains …

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On January 28, 2014 at 1:00 pm

      And, the strange thing is, they remember, too.

      Like

      • bert0001  On January 31, 2014 at 12:42 pm

        They do, they come to me in the middle of the city, and although I remember their face, and the group, it usually takes me a long time to remember the name … over 500 so far …

        Like

  • jmmcdowell  On January 22, 2014 at 9:35 pm

    So sorry for the loss of your former student, Scott. He was fortunate to have someone like you in his life who truly cared about him.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On January 23, 2014 at 2:14 am

      And, in a lot of ways, I was lucky to have him to affect my life. He helped make me a better person.

      Like

  • Arianna Merritt, M. Ed.  On January 22, 2014 at 4:51 pm

    What a touching post! Thank you for sharing this. You really are such an awesome person! The world needs more people like you. You don’t see the issues – you see the soul of the person. I’m sorry for your loss.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On January 22, 2014 at 6:23 pm

      Thank you, Arianna. I do see the issues, but you are right I see the soul of the person. The person is always more important than the soul.
      If you reach the soul, the individual shines forth and has a chance to be whatever he/she can be.
      I have seen that so much that it cannot be denied. And yes, it was a loss to me.

      Like

  • Andrea Stephenson  On January 22, 2014 at 4:18 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about this sad news Scott, but I admire the passion and commitment you gave these children, when someone else might not have given them the chance they deserved.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On January 22, 2014 at 6:24 pm

      It’s a shame when people aren’t given the chance(s) they deserve. When I was little, I suffered a lot at the hands of many other bullying students.
      I kept myself moving somehow and, when the chance came along, I kept moving up a little. This stroke has done nothing really but give me more chances. I see God in that.

      Like

  • Indira  On January 22, 2014 at 3:30 pm

    This shows your great character Scott. Great advice too.

    Like

  • Becki Duckworth  On January 22, 2014 at 2:46 am

    Scott, the world is in desperate need of more people like you. Someone that cared about what society considers misfits, some of the children for whatever reason were probably without love. Sorry for your loss. Happy to hear that you are feeling better from being sick. But I am sure your heart aches now.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On January 22, 2014 at 3:17 pm

      I have thought about this a lot today. Yes, more love. That’s what a lot of those children need / needed. It’s not always family love; many just needed others to accept them as people with problems and issues and to care for them anyway. Thanks.

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

Just Joyfulness

Celebrating joy

Sascha Darlington's Microcosm Explored

Sascha Darlington emerges from her cocoon to investigate her world.

