And How Long Will This Miracle Take?

Source: Google Image – Licensed for Reuse. Click on Pic for page.

Well, things can get very interesting if you let them.

For instance, I pray for something.  Now, if it is something difficult, then a miracle may be needed.  I believe that God is perfectly capable of bringing that miracle into existence.  But, that is often the point at which I also decide that, perhaps, He shouldn’t.  I mean, who am I to say that He should grant such and such?  What if granting that something would really mess us other good things that are going on?  What right do I have to demand (pray without ceasing) that my miracle happen?  Anyway, that is often where I, at least, used to go with the conversation.

I have addressed that question according to my current set of beliefs and am comfortable with my answer.  How do I feel?  Well, now, I don’t pray exactly for miracles, at least, not in the same way.  I ask for what I choose to have come into my life or to come into the lives of others.  However, now, I add a statement at the end of my prayers.  It goes something like this:

Lord, I have asked for these miracles to come into my life.  But, only, God, if they can be part of the best for all concerned.  You know better than I and I will accept whatever happens.

Then, I accept whatever happens.  It doesn’t mean, to me, that I have set myself up to accept failure.  What it means to me is that I have allowed God to do what He does best: work things out the best for all concerned.

If you have read much of my spiritual beliefs, you know that I don’t hold much account with any religion.  They are fine.  People are welcome to believe what they will.  My beliefs, however, do not fit within the confines of any religion.  I love God and know that He loves me and that He loves everyone, even those I have great problems with.  His love is total; I can only try and approach that level; it is a goal.  But, that means that He is always looking out for everyone and, sometimes, my “miracles” could make that rough.  So, if God wants to supercede my miracle, then I know that, if I wait, something even better will come along.  It always has.  It’s the basis of my belief system:

All things work together for good in the end; if it hasn’t worked out, it isn’t the end.

There are hundreds of examples of this rule all around us.  The usual problem is that we don’t see the examples.  Either we are too busy asking for what we want or we are upset that what we want has not come to pass.  Either way we are missing out on some great stuff.

I am happy with my belief system now.  It is still being tweaked, but the basics are done and I am satisfied that God is truly in my life.

How do you feel about miracles?  This post could go many directions.  I have chosen one.  If you want another direction explored, simply start the discussion in the comments.  If it grows large, then I can make it into a separate post!  Love to hear from you all!

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

Iain Kelly

Fiction Writing

contemplateandintimate

Quick reviews so you can spend more time reading, cooking, or living.

Sip Of Wellness

Sip by sip guide to live well

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

