Scott Takes a Trip

Source: Google Image Search with license for reuse. Click on pic for page.

Last week, my sister and I took some time and went on a small vacation to the top of our state.  We visited the city of Fort Wayne.  Never heard of it?  Well, it’s not the largest city in the state.  In fact,  it has a population of a little over 250 thousand and is the county seat (Allen County).  It lies near the Ohio/Michigan corner of Indiana.  It is the 76th largest city in the US and second only to Indianapolis in the state of Indiana.  If you want more, here’s the link > HERE <

While we were there, we visited:

1)  The Fort Wayne Zoo

2) The Botanical Conservatory

3) The final day’s fireworks of the Three Rivers Festival (Sat in #2)

4)  Listened to about 4 hours to two great outdoor live bands (Also in #2)

5)  Visited a Sunken park

6)  Drove through a second park

7)  Ate out at several places (difficult because I am now vegan)

8) Went shopping a bit and met a wonderful person to talk to

9)  Had a pleasant drive up and back with my Sister.

We haven’t taken a trip together since high school.  I think we did quite well (no bloodshed, no bruises).

I walked more than I have in a long time.  Still, we had to rent a wheelchair and Sis pushed me around most of the zoo.  At other places, I had her go on ahead and enjoy the view and take some pics while I rested.  I made great use of my telephoto lens to sit and still get far pics.  All in all, I think we both had fun, got away for a bit, and saw some new things.

I will take a moment here to recommend “Extended Stay America” suites for comfortable rooms with great service for a decent price.

Below are the best of the pics I took during the trip.  Enjoy!  What are you doing this summer?  What have you already done?

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Indira  On July 25, 2014 at 6:17 am

    I’m happy for you had great fun. Nice photographs but my favorite’ two monkeys’. Botanical center tree is very funny. Is it artificial?Interesting post.

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

Just Joyfulness

Celebrating joy

Sascha Darlington's Microcosm Explored

Sascha Darlington emerges from her cocoon to investigate her world.

