Dinner, A Storm, and a New Arrival!

Source: Google Image Search licensed for reuse. Click on Pic for Page.

Okay, tonight is my “General Post” night (now and Fri).  I decided to let you have 3 topics in 1!

First, let’s discuss the weather from last night (Monday).  My buddy and I went out to eat for out weekly dinner.  We discussed a lot of topics, but the one for current weather came up very near last.  My buddy is a farmer, so he watches out for weather a lot.  He told me and looked it up on his phone that much of Indiana was covered/or being covered in Red (not good).  Weather report was about 2 inches of rain by late Tuesday night (about 24-30 hours).  He looked outside and decided to leave.  So did I.  However, I did snap 3 pictures of what was heading my way when I left (see below).  OMG!!!

Storm Coming 082514-03 Storm Coming 082514-02Storm Coming 082514-01Okay, now, for all this coming mess, by the time I got home (about 15 minutes), the sky was clearing and we had received very few drops of rain and a bit of rumbling!  It did rain later, but kind of a general rain, nothing special.  Don’t know what’s coming tonight and tomorrow, but, so far, I laugh at the weather (hope I don’t really regret saying that).

Number Two:  A new Arrival.

I finally received and set up my new computer!  I need to tell you how much of a difference it has made for me.  I had a 3.0 Dual processor, decent video card (upgraded), 1.5 TB of disc space (1 TB on an external drive), and 2 GB Ram.  My new computer is an Alienware Computer from Dell.  It has a video card that is 1-2 steps up from what I had upgraded to, 2 TB of disc space, a 4.0 Quad processor, and 16 GB of Ram.

This one screams!!!  I love playing Fallout 3 and Skyrim.  I have always played them on medium speed/resolution and had problems with that.  Now, both play on Ultra High speed/resolution and no problems to speak of!  There are details I had never seen before and Skyrim is beautiful!

I also purchased a new Surge/Battery UPS and had to buy Word Essentials to keep Word and Excel.

Number Three.  Dinner.

Here is one of my favorite food recipes since going extreme Vegan.  I developed this recipe.  It uses brand name products for a lot of it, but they are assorted and I worked out the mixture.

Great/Easy Chili Recipe – Vegan Style – 6 Ingredients

5 Cans

1 Can Hormel Chili Vegetarian with Beans (99% Fat free) (15 oz)

1 Can Hunts Dinner Starters seasoned Tomato Sauce for Chili (15 oz)

1 Can Golden Sweet Whole Kernel Corn (15.25 oz) (Do NOT drain)

1 Can Brooks Just for Chili Med. With Onions Tomato Sauce (15 oz)

1 Can Bush’s Best Chili Magic Chili Starter Traditional Mild (15.5 oz)

1 Cup Elbow Macaroni Dry

______________________________________________________

  1. Put all ingredients into a crock pot (I think mine is a 2 quart)
  2. Stir thoroughly
  3. Turn Crock pot on high (Cover)
  4. Cook for 3 hours (Stir Once, perhaps, twice)
  5. Turn Down to warm (Stir and check if boiling)
  6. If boiling for a time, skip to step 8.
  7. Heat on warm up to 3 more hours
  8. Serve*
  9. Put remainder into containers and refrigerate (eat within 3 days**)
  10. Clean crock pot asap before it gets hard and difficult to clean

Makes about 4 2-cup servings or 8 1-cup servings

1 Cup = about 10 Grams of Fiber and 50 Grams of Carbs

(Don’t forget, you get to subtract the fiber from the carbs, so net= 40 Carbs/cup)

*Feel free to add some Cayenne Pepper to taste (I do). As is, it has a decent kick, but not too strong.

**Tastes great reheated

Okay, that’s my 3 bits of news today.  Feel caught up if you want.  My health is improving, my weight is dropping (slowly, but that’s good!), and I am on my way to being a Skyrim fanatic!  I can’t wait to see how Oblivion runs on it. Tomb Raider should be awesome.

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • vidhya  On August 27, 2014 at 1:21 pm

    1) The clouds seemed like mother nature was angry or something 🙂
    2) I am no gamer but I do think the config sounds to be great. Congratulation on the New Arrival 🙂
    3) Thanks for the recipe, I am vegetarian, so might give it a try.
    Namaste

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

Just Joyfulness

Celebrating joy

Sascha Darlington's Microcosm Explored

Sascha Darlington emerges from her cocoon to investigate her world.

