I am Eating What?!

Source: Wiki image search with license for reuse. Click the pic for the page.

Two things tonight:  First, I want to catch you up on me.  Second, I have something I found very interesting.  Many of you may have already known it, but I did not.

First.

My efforts at being vegan and helping my health are working out very nicely.  People have gotten used to me being vegan now, so there’s that problem avoided most of the time.  I take my own food often when I visit someone else, and I get weird combinations at meals out.  As far as health is concerned, my blood pressure has dropped enough I think I may have to talk to the doctor about reducing something in my meds at my visit in December (if not before).  My reading today was 104/34 and that is a tad low for that bottom number.  I don’t feel bad, but still may need to ask.  I have not had my repeat tests; those will be on December 12th.  But my sugar is lower now (my diet is better packed with vegetables) and my weight has dropped 9.6 pounds (a little less than 1 pound per week).  I can even report last night, for the first time in over 2 years, I slept 6.5 hours without getting up!

Second, I have found I really like sauerkraut.  Now, I already knew this, but stayed away because of salt content.  Well, the salt does not seem to be bothering me and I do love the taste.  What I really love is the taste of the brand I buy now at Earth Fare.  It’s made of cabbage, sea salt, and water.  This is what got me to doing some online studying.  I always thought sauerkraut had vinegar in it.  That’s way I thought it was so sour.  Not so!!!  Wiki (link at end) tells me that sauerkraut is fermented cabbage!  I did not know this.  I was fascinated as I read how they leave the cabbage out for days or even weeks to ferment it and make it taste so good.

I then read how very good for you it is.  The enzymes in it are excellent for digestion, the product itself is good for soothing your stomach (that was a big surprise), and there was some talk of it helping to stop cancer.  These are excellent reasons.  The bad part?  Well, the only part mentioned was the resulting flatulence that can happen (read that as “probably will”).  Sounds good to me.  After all, there is some advantage to living alone!

I know I really shortened the wiki article in the above, but that is the main high points.  The article is very well done and you should take the 10 minutes and educate yourself on this particular food product.

Link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sauerkraut

Enjoy eating, enjoy living, and enjoying whatever else comes your way.

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Anti-Oxidant Blog

Anti Oxidants Blog

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

