Here It Is: Easter Again

Source: The Huffington Post Reuse License listed in search Click on Pic for page

I used the above picture for the sole reason that when I typed the term “Easter Celebraton” (no quotes) into Google, it was one of the choices and I could find no good reason.  🙂

As I sit here writing this, I find myself wondering that it is a big Christian holiday:  Easter.  Easter is upon us and all day there has been celebrating and church, meals, and candy.  Those go together in my head because of my Christian upbringing, but as I sit here now and think about it, the whole Easter Bunny, church, Salvation, Resurrection, and celebration ideas just don’t fit very well.  Children pay more attention to Christmas and Easter because of gifts.  That may be the big draw to those two holidays.  I am not downing anyone who celebrates it at all.  I think celebrating is good for the body, mind, and soul.  I am simply pointing out something I noticed.  You can do with that as you will.

I used to be a big celebrator of Easter.  Easter Bunny in the morning, followed by church.  In my early years, it was Church at dawn, then Bunny, then church afterwards, followed by the noon meal.  This was a big feast in which all of my immediate family as well as my Dad’s family got together and celebrated.

We didn’t do that this year.  My family – parents, sibling, children, great niece, and so forth got together, ate, then did various things (such as nap) before leaving to go home around supper time.  It was enjoyable, but nothing like it used to be.

I have become non-religious in the last few years.  Not atheist, by any means, simply not a follower of Christianity or any other organized religion.  I don’t miss it.  My own closeness to God occurs anyway, much to the disbelief of many who feels that a non-churchgoer cannot have much faith.  I see this as a very limited perspective.

Be that as it may, I decided I should attempt to write something on this holiday.  Not certain exactly how I have done, but here it is.

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Thumbup  On April 6, 2015 at 2:51 pm

    Valentine too! I just recently found that out!

    Liked by 1 person

  • Thumbup  On April 5, 2015 at 7:19 pm

    It wasn’t a christian holiday in the beginning. Catholicism changed the pagan worship into christian holiday. Same with Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

