Relaxation Wherever You are

In the last few weeks, I have discussed this several times in my blogs, on other blogs, or in person.  I began this process about 30 years ago.  I used to listen to a self-hypnosis tape while I did it and that helped a lot.  However, I have found recently that it helps me anytime I need to relax and I don’t need the tape anymore.

What I think is important is that you turn inward and ignore what’s going on around you.  When I was in the hospital and the nursing home here recently, I used this a lot through the days and nights to calm down, rest, and/or sleep.  It worked well for me and I decided I should share it.

When I do it for resting or sleeping, I try not to move, just relax.  After about the 3rd time, I notice that I feel so much calmer and can close my eyes and mostly ignore whatever is going on around me.

What could it hurt?  Try it for a few weeks.  If it works even just a little bit, that’s a good thing, right?

______________________

Originally, I wanted to say that I don’t get stressed out anymore since the stroke, but that isn’t quite true. I do realize that when I realize I am going to have to do something that will be difficult or long for me, I do get a bit stressed. I can, usually, stop it or slow it down by just realizing that it’s not forever and not quite as important as I might have originally thought. I also use an 8 count relaxation routine that works really well for me.
Count from 8 to 0. Breathe in deeply, then count as you exhale through your mouth slowly.
8- relax your right arm
7-relax your left arm
6-relax your right leg
5-relax your left leg
4-relax your stomach
3-relax your chest
2-relax your face
1-relax the top of your head
0-relax your spine

relaxing can be just tightening a muscle in that area and releasing it (for awhile, then it becomes automatic)
I do this several times with a couple of breaths in between. At night, I do it 5-6 times and it really helps me sleep.
I have done this for years. It has gotten better over time.
Maybe it can help you,
Scott

____________________________

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Kate Johnston  On May 31, 2015 at 6:36 am

    I don’t usually have trouble sleeping, but when I do I’ll have to try this. Thanks for the tip!

    Liked by 1 person

  • backtowhatever  On May 26, 2015 at 2:56 pm

    I can confirm that this works! I never believed in such things until I started working with patients who suffer from post traumatic stress disorders. Back then, the mentor of my thesis gave me a present when I finished my study: it was a CD with instructions for meditation and hypnosis. It took me a while to try it, and I certainly re-tried a few times before I felt it helps. But it helps, I do it frequently now and I believe it’s a great method of self-healing. Very cool that we have that in common!

    Liked by 1 person

  • Thumbup  On May 25, 2015 at 5:33 am

    Like

  • rogershipp  On May 23, 2015 at 6:33 pm

    When I need to relax… I find a quiet place and enjoy music. Often, as I become more relaxed, I find myself humming and then singing along. If I do this at night I get to excited from the music to sleep- It has to be a morning or an afternoon thing!

    Liked by 1 person

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

Just Joyfulness

Celebrating joy

Sascha Darlington's Microcosm Explored

Sascha Darlington emerges from her cocoon to investigate her world.

