A Painful Goodbye and a Heartening Hello…

Source: Wikimedia (troll) Licensed for reuse.

I learned today that one of the newer blogs I have been following, Opinionated Man, has stopped blogging for an undetermined amount of time.  He states his reason for leaving is to become a “treasure hunter,” however, having followed him for some time, I felt it was more due to a horrible troll bashing on him and threatening his family.  This idea was supported in another post >here<.

I have yet to be bothered by a troll.  I don’t know if it’s because my main thrust in life is freedom of expression and love of everyone or whether my blog is just so insignificant, I don’t “deserve” a troll.  I have been realizing that I do not have a great enormous widespread influence on  people around the world.  I have also been realizing that is fine with me.  I get 10-20 views per day and have nearly 1,000 followers all counted.  I have been blogging steadily since about Feb. 2011, shortly after my rehab for my stroke ended (Though rehab for that never really ends).  I have brought ideas out to people and have tried not to be pushy nor uninformed when I tossed ideas and info out into the “void” which is the Internet.

I will not go into a deep hating oratory about trolls.  They have affected two blogs I try to follow closely.  Opinionated Man and Aghostdancer.  The second is a wonderful blog about a woman who has been to hell and back, still has many issues, yet, like myself, just keeps on going and smiling while she’s at it.  We have spoken in comments enough that I feel close to her and understand a lot of what she is about.  I have read her posts concerning her life and how it progressed.  It is a fascinating story and I would urge you to follow the blog.

Back to trolls:  I have done some reading and tried to understand them.  I don’t.  They don’t make their identities known as they can be tossed from sites and have been successfully apprehended by legal arenas and fined or even jailed.  The worst, I believe, are the cyber bullies.  I wrote of one young woman who had a cyber bully who followed her from year to year and town to town and finally, in my strong opinion, was the main cause of her suicide.  I wish him caught, convicted, and sentenced to life.

The troll for OM may have been just as bad.  OM simply was older, more mature, and took his family out of fire.  I don’t blame him a bit.

You will be missed, OM.  The rest of you do what you can to keep pushing through such trash and let’s work together to stop them and get them off the net as much as possible.

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Opinionated Man  On July 8, 2015 at 7:54 pm

    Thank you for the post and the kind words of support! I meant to drop by sooner. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  • Kate Johnston  On June 10, 2015 at 5:51 am

    That’s terrible. OM should most definitely not take trolls sitting down. Report it WP (if OM is on WordPress). If the troll is leaving nasty messages, then there’s the proof. I know it’s a lengthy and difficult process, but I think the effort is worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • kindredspirit23  On June 10, 2015 at 9:00 am

      I believe he has done what you suggest. This all may be temporary until the person is caught. I don’t know all the details well. I simply feel it is wrong to lose your freedom of speech to what amounts to a bully.

      Liked by 1 person

  • wildero64  On June 9, 2015 at 1:40 pm

    Trolls suck, OM’s troll was pretty bad, he even trolled myself (as a brand new blogger) and a bunch of his followers. So sad to hear about the suicide. Sometimes it gets that bad for people and that’s really not okay. Thanks for the recommendation, I will check out Aghostdancer.

    Liked by 1 person

  • mike7sedona  On June 9, 2015 at 1:23 pm

    A painful goodbye indeed, yet unavoidable under the circumstances explained. Trolls/Cyber bullies are dime a dozen and being a pain in the a*se, are better ignored and forgotten. But, the pesky ones ought to be dealt with physically, if possible, or by legal means by getting restraining orders as pointed out by Styles.

    Liked by 1 person

  • Michelle Styles  On June 9, 2015 at 11:42 am

    Thanks for the kind words. I have had only one troll. He is rude and his words are vile. I did my best to ignore him but eventually turned the data to the authorities. Maybe I should post an article or two on how to get restraining orders against your cyber bullies.

    🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • kindredspirit23  On June 9, 2015 at 11:45 am

      That would be most appreciated. I don’t know how, though using the Internet, I bet I could find it. You would be a much better source.
      As for the kind words, they are true and have been earned. I tend to form friends easily and through the Internet is no different. I have a different way of looking at life and have a feeling my strangest adventures may be yet to come.

      Liked by 1 person

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

Nyssa's Hobbit Hole

Diary, Opinions, Passions, Fiction, Memoir

The Recovering Know It All

The Man who Learned Too Much and Lived to Tell

lifexperimentblog

Sharing my experiences with all life's experiments!

Two Brits In Spain

A Lifestyle Blog, Written And Produced By An Expat Quirk

Temple Fitness

" Your body is your temple"

slicethelife

hold a mirror up to life.....are there layers you can see?

