As Featured on News Cult: Monogamy: Let’s Discuss

It isn’t that often that onlybadchi gives a post that makes you really think and consider things (she is hilarious and beautiful, but I digress). So when her post spoke of a discussion on monogamy, I figured I was going to be treated to a laughable folly on the subject. The humor is there, count on it, but her points on both sides will make you think and wonder. My take: I want exclusivity in a relationship with someone who wants the same and where we want and love each other. Can that be found? Don’t know, but I intend to keep looking…

only bad chi

The elephant in every relationship: monogamy. When are you going to be “official”? Are you “dating” or just “seeing each other” or merely “hooking up”? WTF do those things even mean? How do you refer to each other when making introductions? “Mom, this is Jack, the… guy I’m occasionally having mediocre sex with?” Or, “Everyone, this is Sarah–I think she’s my girlfriend but that hasn’t been explicitly stated yet so I’m not really sure. I know that I would like her to be, but I don’t know her feelings on the subject.”

To be, or not to be, monogamous–that is the question. It seems like American society and culture overwhelmingly promote monogamy when it comes to marriage, but anything short of that, it’s a free for all. There is no given–just because you’re going on dates with someone, or having sex with them, does not make them your monogamous partner…

View original post 968 more words

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Russel Ray Photos  On July 26, 2015 at 3:52 pm

    Society might support monogamy but throughout history, man’s (not necessarily woman’s) desire has been to spread his seed………….LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • kindredspirit23  On July 31, 2015 at 1:13 pm

      I think we all, deep down, know this to be true whether it should be or not…now, that is a question.

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Recovering Know It All

The Man who Learned Too Much and Lived to Tell

lifexperimentblog

Sharing my experiences with all life's experiments!

Two Brits In Spain

A Lifestyle Blog, Written And Produced By An Expat Quirk

Temple Fitness

" Your body is your temple"

slicethelife

hold a mirror up to life.....are there layers you can see?

Neal's Epiphany

Word's I live by

