It has to Start Somewhere

I told you I am going through a rough patch right now.  My Dad had a stroke and has had some complications.  That has me switching hours and staying at the hospital most nights from 8pm-2am.  I have mostly adjusted now, but have been irritable, fussy, and sleepy for some time.  Since I already suffer from lack of sleep, it is disheartening.

Regardless, this all is to lead to the story.

The other night, I was on my way to the hospital and stopped at a local store for some bottled water and something to snack on that wouldn’t send my sugar into space.  I got in line and a somewhat younger gentleman (most of them are now) was with the cashier and buying a few items.  I overheard a bit of the conversation.

“I don’t have enough for them both.”

I gathered that the item he wanted was less than a dollar, so I stated:

“I will pay for that.”

Both the cashier and the man looked at me.  The cashier asked if I was sure.  I told her yes and they continued.  The man was happy and thanked me.  I had to pay $0.60.  I told the cashier what was going on in my life and how that seemed too little a problem to have to deal with.

I bought my stuff and left.  I felt just a bit lighter going to the car.  I did a little better for most of the evening.

I decided that sixty cents was a pretty cheap price for being lifted mostly out of the depths of depression for the evening.  I still think I am right.

Pass it forward…

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

Nyssa's Hobbit Hole

Diary, Opinions, Passions, Fiction, Memoir

The Recovering Know It All

The Man who Learned Too Much and Lived to Tell

lifexperimentblog

Sharing my experiences with all life's experiments!

Two Brits In Spain

A Lifestyle Blog, Written And Produced By An Expat Quirk

Temple Fitness

" Your body is your temple"

slicethelife

hold a mirror up to life.....are there layers you can see?

