And I think I have memory problems!!!

Tonight, just playing around, I was curious – so, I asked Google:

“How much storage space does Google have?”  Here is the link to the answer:

http://paulwallbank.com/2012/08/23/how-much-server-space-do-internet-companies-need-to-run-their-sites/

And, in true form, Google previewed my question this time after “How much storage”.

I found it a great article to read and the idea the world, basically, had about 295 exabytes in 2007 freaked me a bit.  We know it will have come a very, very long way since 2007.  Now, I am told the true answers are, mostly, kept secret by these large companies.  But, let’s take a short look at that number.

1 exabyte = 1,000 petabytes and 1 petabyte = 1,000 terabytes.  Going on, 1 terabyte = 1,000 megabytes and a megabyte = 1,000 kilobytes which, in turn, is equal to 1,000 bytes or 2 bits each equaling a 1 or 0.

Making it ridiculous, 1 exabyte = 1,000,000,000,000 bytes or 1 trillion bytes.

So, the storage was about equal to 590 trillion 1s or 0s.  The nearest star to us, I am told, is about 4.367 light years (Alpha Centauri).  A light year is about 5.87849981 × 1012 miles.  This large number is:

5,878,499,810,000 or a little LESS than 6 trillion miles.  So, look at this comparison:

590,000,000,000,000 and 5,878,499,810,000.  If it needs to be made easier, if you traveled 1 mile for each byte in the storage space of the Earth for 2007, you could travel to Alpha Centauri AND BACK nearly 5 times!!! Now, that makes it a huge number.

Then, I found a chart within the article:

This was a fabulous info graphic and deserves a bit of your attention and I won’t ruin it by trying to summarize.  Just know that it is fairly easy to understand and the numbers are almost as freaky as those above!

I hope this quick trip through large numbers and computers has held your attention.  Feel free to ask me in the comments about other large numbers in computing.  What’s your question?!

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

Just Joyfulness

Celebrating joy

Sascha Darlington's Microcosm Explored

Sascha Darlington emerges from her cocoon to investigate her world.

