Just Thinking with an “Open” Mind

The US Open in Tennis is one of the top tennis tournaments in the world.  So many players come to play, so many people come to watch.  I won’t belabor the point.  I was just looking and thinking because Google has the US Open as it’s main pic on the search site.  If you click on it, you can find out everything about it you probably never wanted to know.

I have never been a big fan of Serena Williams.  No good reason.  I like to watch the ladies play because they finesse a lot and they are mostly pretty.  I watch the guys because they tough it out and play hard.  Serena simply got lost in the shuffle for me.

That is, until recently.  They have been talking a lot about her ability and the fact that she has the only shot at the grand slam this year.  She has won 3 of the 4 majors to clinch it.  All she has left is the US Open.  I doubt that I will watch much of it, however, I imagine I will look at the scores and listen as they are talked about.

Here is Serena’s page and info: http://www.usopen.org/en_US/players/overview/wta230234.html

I had a difficult time when I saw what all she has accomplished in about 34 years of life and 20 of playing tennis.  What is really getting me is that, at 34, she is still the number 1 seeded in the US Open.  In those 20 years, she has qualified and played in 16 US Opens, winning 6 in the women’s singles and 2 in the doubles arena.  She has won 69 titles and 723 matches in her life and, as of this writing, 48 matches this year. She is ranked number 1 this year.

She has earned around $73 million for life and over $9 million this year.

A great athlete?  Yes, I have decided that.  She is now somewhat of a role model for me.  I don’t choose those easily.

Who is your role model in tennis?  Something else?

My big life role models are  Joan ‘d Arc, Helen Keller, George Washington Carver, and Thomas Edison.

Put yours in the comments below.

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Terri Webster Schrandt  On August 31, 2015 at 8:47 pm

    So many women athletes’ accomplishment are overshadowed by the BIG sports (NFL, MLB, Pro soccer, etc). They are all my heroes. In my life, my heroes are my brother and sis-in-law for adopting two troubled half sisters from foster care who were going to be split up. They have sacrificed a lot to take care of these little darlings. Making a child’s life better is the result of true heroism.

    Liked by 2 people

  • Just Plain Ol' Vic  On August 31, 2015 at 1:50 pm

    Bruce Lee for so many reasons.

    Liked by 2 people

  • mike7sedona  On August 31, 2015 at 12:27 pm

    Your viewpoint is justified and your role models are all great! My larger-than-life role models are my Mom and Dad – may their souls rest in peace!

    Liked by 2 people

  • Kate Johnston  On August 31, 2015 at 6:42 am

    My big role model is Walt Disney. Serena Williams is an amazing, truly gifted athlete. I don’t think anyone can disagree with that.

    Liked by 2 people

  • Thumbup  On August 31, 2015 at 4:38 am

    My role models

    Liked by 1 person

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Anti-Oxidant Blog

Anti Oxidants Blog

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

