Your Order has Arrived

Sometimes, it takes very little for life to not only remind us but to jump all over our weaknesses.  These last few weeks have been rough.  Dad in the nursing home, my visiting him most nights, taking Mom to dialysis for her to see him, wanting needing to clean the house, as well as dozens of other things.  I am not normal; I have had a major brain trauma (stroke) and I cannot function like others.  I know this; however, I usually don’t acknowledge it to affect me much very often.  But then, there is life, right there to spit and say, “Got ya!”

Yesterday, I had to order some new saline nasal spray.  I had read if you use it nightly (religiously), it will mostly wash all cold and such germs from your nasal passages and you will not get sick as often.  I have to say in the months I have done this, I have never had a cold.  I also ordered a package for my daughter’s birthday in October.  Both of these were from Amazon.  Also, know I use nasal strips to keep my nose open at night.  I will bring these all together in a moment.

Life is very interesting.  My stroke makes it more so.

I had to run the car in this morning early (after a very late night – another story) and wait on it to be fixed (1.5 hours).  When I dragged myself back into the house, I began to prepare to go back to bed for awhile (I haven’t made it quite yet).  I put on a new nasal opener and then stopped and counted how many were left – 25.  Then, my little brain began calculating and realized I thought I had bought 120 of them.  That means I had used 95 or about 3 months’ worth of the four it should last me.  “But,” I thought, “I just bought those a few weeks ago.”  That brought me to the saline spray.  3 of the big-sized bottles should last 3 months, “But,” I thought, “I just bought those a few weeks ago.”  I decided to look and found on amazon both had been purchased in June!  I could not believe I had lost all that time (well, not “lost” but “compressed”).  But there it was staring me in the face.  Then I saw the package I had ordered for my daughter had been “delivered”.  Angry the mail had lost an important package, I went to the front porch…the package was in the trash can I use for package deliveries.  According to Amazon, it had been there since Friday 18th!!!  That was 4 days ago!!!  I had not checked the mail in over 3 days!?

My brain is an amazing piece of work…note the word “amazing” has the base word of “maze” in it.  Yes, my brain has a wonderful “maze” in it loses time and compresses it.  It is mine and I am proud of it; however, day-to-day?  It kinda makes me shake my head…

How about you?  Do you have similar problems?  I was told that, as you age, these problems will happen.  I keep telling people, in my case, these problems began right after my stroke.  Counselor says they are being caused by the aftermath of the stroke.

Whatever the reason, I have to live with it.  Glad businesses do such a good job of letting you know about your packages and other orders.

Namaste,

Scott

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

Iain Kelly

Fiction Writing

contemplateandintimate

Quick reviews so you can spend more time reading, cooking, or living.

Sip Of Wellness

Sip by sip guide to live well

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

