To Vegan or not to Vegan…

As many of you know, I have been vegan since July of 2014.  For those that have difficulties knowing what that means, I do not eat meat, nor take in dairy.  That means no hamburgers, no cheese, no eggs, no milk, no ice cream, no regular chocolate.  I did this because I read a good book that discussed research stating nearly all people in the study who stuck to a vegan diet (and they were diabetic) had their blood sugar, their cholesterol, and their blood pressure go down, as well as their weight.  For many they stopped being diabetic about 6-9 months into the program.

My blood pressure, sugar, and cholesterol has, indeed, gone down.  My weight has dropped a bit.  The problem was that, after 17 months of the diet (and being very careful for the first 8 months), I am not satisfied that, the program has been worth it.  My feelings are if I would eat reasonably and exercise I would see as much, if not more, positive results.

I do not feel this means it doesn’t work; it just doesn’t work well enough for me.

So, after some deliberation, I have altered the diet for me.  I will still restrict myself to more leaner meats.  I will still mostly avoid regular chocolate.  I will still cut down on cheese.  I will still, of course, watch my sugar, test my glucose, and blood pressure, as well as take all my meds.

However, I believe my life will be more fruitful  and enjoyable) if I do this in moderation, exercise in moderation (try 20-30 minutes of light-moderate exercise 3x a week), and try to keep more active in general by doing a lot of versatile things.

I no longer love food; I enjoy food, but it no longer rules me.  That came out of this diet.  I proved to myself and others I could do this for over 1 year.  There’s nothing wrong with the diet.  If you watch your protein and vary your foods, it is very healthy.  I may go back on it again if I start feeling sluggish or gaining weight that can’t be explained by muscle.

I just wanted to keep all of you up to date on me, one of my favorite subjects.

I am making some social changes in my life; perhaps, more on that another time.

In the meantime, let me simply wish you all well, eat healthy, enjoy life, and smile – a lot…

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Indira  On November 22, 2015 at 1:12 am

    I think everything in moderation is the good motto.

    Liked by 1 person

  • rogershipp  On November 15, 2015 at 11:47 am

    Best of Luck with your new endeavour. I, too, am watching my weight as I get older. After trying many things, I have settled on the moderation and attempts at fruitful exercise. I am maintaining- but I am not at the present going lower. I hope this works out for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  • August McLaughlin  On November 13, 2015 at 4:10 pm

    Congrats on your progress, Scott! I’m vegetarian (nearly vegan), namely for ethical reasons. So glad to hear you’ll still be mostly plant-based, and that you’re prioritizing flexibility over all, too. That’s so important for maintaining lifestyle changes. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  • A Star on the Forehead  On November 13, 2015 at 2:21 pm

    Wow, good for you for sticking to that diest for over a year and for realizing it is not the best thing for you at the moment. I know I could never do it, well, I could, but I don’t want to. I am looking to have it all in moderation – sugar being my worst problem. Good luck to you as you re-adapt to a less restricted diet, but I suspect that you will not be hard 🙂 Many blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  • Debra Kristi  On November 13, 2015 at 12:21 am

    I have cut out all dairy and sugar (when I don’t slip). As far as meats go, I only have grilled meat, at the most, once a day. I don’t even have fruit. I’ve been sticking to the fresh veggies. Like you, I don’t love food. I can’t even say I like it much anymore. I don’t know if it’s having the same positives result. i lost some weight, but I find if I indulge myself one meal (soup and break) the weight I lost the day before comes right back on. I’ve decided we aren’t meant to eat beyond a certain age. LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

UpLift Girl

...a girl's guide to navigating the crazy journey of life and faith.

The Step Back

Accepted wisdom is an oxymoron. Challenge your assumptions.

Jellico's Stationhouse

Come on in and sit a while...

priorhouse blog

Photos, art - and a little bit of LIT.

Trent's World (the Blog)

Random Ramblings and Reviews from Trent P. McDonald

Sound Bite Fiction

where nothing is quite what it seems

Autumn Leaves

For those who enjoy fiction

Ellenbest24

words and scribble.

