What’s in a Date? Don’t Know…Haven’t Been…

Life is wonderfully strange.  Sometimes, it’s wonderful; sometimes…well, you get the picture.

I have had a strange few weeks.  Let’s share, shall we?

I am on a couple of dating sites.  I work hard every day to keep track, keep up, and do things that may help me.  I write to everyone who writes to me.  I think about what they say, how they say it, then decide how I will respond.  I always respond.  I figure I would want the person to respond to me, so I do the same.

Recently, make that 2-3 months ago, I started a conversation with a woman who lives nearby.  After the usual stuff to see if she was a player or scammer, I opened up a bit and talked.  After a time, we decided to meet.  I sent her my email and phone, just in case, and we set up a date to meet.  I would take her to a movie and dinner.  As we talked, I felt this was bothering her.  We changed the date to just dinner nearby, so she could meet me there.  That was fine.

The evening came and I went to the restaurant.  She didn’t show.  I waited about 1/2 hour then went in to eat.  I realized that I had not checked the mail at home to see if she was still going to make it.  When I got home, I did.  She had messaged to say she couldn’t make it.  Okay, message received.  I wrote back, we talked.  We set up a second date.  Same place.

This time didn’t work out, but I knew it in time.  We set up date number three for today.

I went to the same restaurant.  I got there about 7-8 minutes early.  I waited 1/2 hour.  She didn’t show.  I went in and ate, relaxed, made some phone calls.  When I got home, I checked the site. No message.  No email.  No phone message.  I never received a text.

Now, I don’t consider myself a stupid man.  I have not sent her a message.  I will not.  If she should send me a message, fine.  I will write back.  I see no reason to try this again.  She has some health problems.  I understand those, perhaps, better than most.  However, if they cause her to miss dates like this, I have no interest in starting up a relationship.  So, I am done and we move onward.  It would still be nice if she would simply drop a message and tell me why.  Even if she says she never intended to go out (She won’t do that, but still).

I would love closure, but this will have to be mine.  I suppose she could have even passed away.  That’s a morbid thought and I hope it isn’t true, but that’s one of the problems with online dating.  I have had several Facebook friends pass and the only reason I knew is that I had some common friends with them and found out.  So, yes, she could have had to go again to the hospital and may be gone now or still there very sick.  I won’t know unless I am told.

People blog all the time about their dates and lack of dates.  I know my story isn’t so very special.  It just happens to mean more to me.  I will find someone else and move on.  We all do that.  I suppose someone may ask about this site?  Yes, she has the link.  She could read this and, if she is a player or scammer, she will steer clear of me, perhaps even laugh at all she has accomplished.

This post has gotten darker than I intended, but I have always allowed my posts to go where they head.  This one is here.

Have you had bad experiences with online dating?  What do you even think of online dating?

It seems funny to me that I write dating profiles for others on http://www.fiverr.com and do it very successfully, yet, I have all this trouble.  That is ironically tragic, almost funny…not laughing, but still, almost…

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Andrea Stephenson  On March 1, 2017 at 2:21 pm

    Still, you’re still out there Scott and hopefully you will meet someone who’s just right for you eventually.

    Liked by 1 person

    • kindredspirit23  On March 2, 2017 at 12:09 am

      Getting less and less worried about that. It is just becoming more important to be myself and enjoy life, whatever it brings.

      Liked by 1 person

  • cindy knoke  On February 25, 2017 at 12:25 am

    It sounds to me like she was possibly not being honest about herself and was afraid to meet and get caught out. Or at the very least she was afraid to meet for some reason related to her own personal issues. Since you haven’t even met her, it clearly was not your issue. Maybe just be grateful this was a near miss and you found out sooner rather than later. Don’t be discouraged. Keep at it. Many people have met online and are happy together. You can be too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • kindredspirit23  On February 25, 2017 at 9:42 pm

      Thank you, Cindy. I appreciate the thought. I don’t blame myself. I was just a bit down when I wrote the blog. I liked it too much to delete it and start over. It has occurred and been stated to me that she probably never really intended to meet or got scared. I can accept either of those as reasons. My thing is: tell me. That’s all I ever really ask: honesty and openness. Thanks again.

      Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

Girl Boner

Where Good Girls Go For Sexual Empowerment

Happiness Between Tails by da-AL

Arts + Cooking + Dancing + Joy + Writing + Tales + Tails

Nyssa's Hobbit Hole

Diary, Opinions, Passions, Fiction, Memoir

The Recovering Know It All

The Man who Learned Too Much and Lived to Tell

lifexperimentblog

Sharing my experiences with all life's experiments!

Two Brits In Spain

A Lifestyle Blog, Written And Produced By An Expat Quirk

Temple Fitness

" Your body is your temple"

