Love, Memory, and the Bottle

Tonight, I have a story for you – a true one.  I got permission to share the story if I didn’t use any of the real names or places, so I won’t.  But, since I don’t know the real names, I won’t use any.

This is the story of Hubby and Wifey.  Now,  they had been married a long time and were rather up in their years.  Hubby was beginning to suffer from Alzheimer.  Wifey liked to drink a bit.  In fact, they were at the point where Hubby would get lost a lot and Wifey had 4 bottles of wine a day.  So, see?  Just your usual suburban older couple.

One day, Wifey got a bit tired of Hubby and when he went out into the garage, she locked him in.  He had his coat on, so the cold wouldn’t bother him.  After that, she kind of forgot about him.  Hubby, on the other hand, did not like being locked in the garage.  So, he pushed the door opener.  The door was slightly broken, so it only went up about 2 feet.  This did not deter Hubby, who merely lay down and crawled rolled out of the garage without Wifey even knowing.

He then began walking.  Now, after a bit, he forgot where he was.  He decided to stop at a house.  Wifey, knowing her Hubby was so forgetful, had gone to all the neighbors and passed out her business card and explained about Hubby’s problem.  This neighbor was such a one.  The neighbor was nice and helped Hubby get back home.

In the meantime, the garage door had never been lowered.  This, eventually, set off the house alarm system and called the police.  When said neighbor returned with Hubby, there were 3 police cars parked in front of the house and Wifey was upset and hollering.

Isn’t it wonderful that boredom will never gain a foothold in this house?

I will also mention here that other time when Wifey put Hubby upstairs and then, apparently, drank enough to forget where he was.  She called the police and, while explaining to them about the situation, suddenly heard him and told the police to nevermind, he was upstairs.

Yes, I am looking so forward to getting older!

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Aspergers Girls  On February 3, 2013 at 1:13 pm

    And each of us is on our own quirky journey, yes? thanks for sharing Teddy 🙂

    Like

  • Indira  On January 23, 2013 at 6:45 pm

    The story is funny, but I feel sorry for Alzheimer patients and their partner. After all those years of togetherness if someone forgets everything, it’s hard on the partner.

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On January 23, 2013 at 7:28 pm

      Oh, I agree. I am glad they have chosen to stay together and live as a family. They seem good for each other. The relative telling me the story, in no way meant disrespect for them. The situation simply seemed humorous and, of course, no one got hurt.
      Scott

      Like

  • Linda  On January 17, 2013 at 5:52 pm

    The way my memory is at times I’m just glad I kicked the booze. Thankfully, my hubby is a good deal younger than me, so that might be my saving grace…then again, maybe not….

    Like

  • robincoyle  On January 17, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    You promised you wouldn’t share my story with the world.

    Like

  • behindthemaskofabuse  On January 17, 2013 at 1:29 am

    I hate to say it but that’s funny!

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

Just Joyfulness

Celebrating joy

Sascha Darlington's Microcosm Explored

Sascha Darlington emerges from her cocoon to investigate her world.

