A Last Stand

It is 1:43A and I have been watching the government workings since about 2pm. I have tried to imagine how I would feel if I came to work on a morning, expecting debates, speeches, and voting; and, instead, watching as I had to hide and vacate my workplace, feel threatened, then return to a “normal” day at work at nearly 8pm.

I have been listening as objections are made and countered and then voted on. I have watched and listened as we went from violence, then order, then to the House and Senate debating, especially, the voting validity for Pennsylvania. The more I listened the more I thought. What I couldn’t give was the fact that some of the arguments on the objection side made sense, made good sense. But what I did see was from the House was a sense of arguments and anger and other things I really didn’t hope to see. But there was voting and I will support that, even when some objections were about the voting process itself.

I support our governmental processes, even where I haven’t seen the voting outcome yet.

What I don’t support is the violence and the attack on the Capitol Building. I thank our police and secret service personnel and any other responders who helped gain and maintain order. I feel sorry for the loss of one woman’s life and hope our country will regain and keep its democracy.

Namaste,

Scott L Vannatter

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Sarah Potter Writes  On January 10, 2021 at 12:34 pm

    From my side of the Pond, it seems that violence erupted due to one oversized toddler throwing his toys out the pram as he’s a bad loser. As for me understanding your electoral system in the US — it seems so complicated that I can imagine some of your own citizens don’t understand it themselves 😉 I’ve always believed in conciliation and peace. Lol, you should have seen me in the 60s with flowers painted on my face and my strings of lovebeads!

    Like

  • RO  On January 7, 2021 at 7:22 am

    True – violence is never the the way to resolve anything. Hugs, RO

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Beauty lies within yourself

The only impossible journey in life is you never begin!! ~Tanvir Kaur

Saania's diary - reflections, learnings, sparkles

Life is all about being curious, asking questions, and discovering your passion. And it can be fun!

North Noir

DETECTIVE FICTION - A.M. Potter | AUTHOR SITE and BLOG

carly books

I read lots of books, from mythology retellings to literary fiction and I love to reread books from childhood, this is a place to voice my thoughts for fun. I also like to ramble about things such as art or nature every now and again.

Ipsa.rb

QUALITY LIFE

. . .

love each other like you are the lyric to their music

READING & WRITING TO MAKE MEANING OF THE WORLD AND BEYOND

We are all Kindred Spirits; connected in Life

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

A Poet's Vision

"kindness is healing, writer & poet of sorts, "