The Rule of 7

Okay, wonderful (dare I say “lovely”?) Debra Kristi posted in her blog about the “Rule of 7“.  I will compress the rules here:

1)  Go to page 7 or 77 of your current WIP.

2)  Count down 7 lines.

3) Quote the next 7 lines (finish the thought, if you need to)

4) Choose 7 more authors to play

Debra chose little ol’ me to play.  I selected my newest sold story “Tiger, Demon Burning Bright” and popped out 7.5 lines from page 7 of the story:

“he decided he would manage, somehow, to fling himself off this cliff and die on the rocks below.  He refused to be a suffering meal for this living nightmare.

Ben tried to force his mind to order his body to roll off the ledge.  It was hard to make the body kill itself, no matter the reason.  He hesitated; then, it was too late.  The furry demon moved so fast, Ben sucked in his breath as the thing was at his side before he could blink.  Its maw gaped and drew back for the kill.

Brightness hit so hard and so quickly, Ben could not see.  He assumed that his body had not registered the death yet and this was the light to the other side.”

I hope it tickles your fancy and draws you to wanting to read the work.  It should be published in a month or so.  I just signed the contract yesterday!

As for my other 3 stories, 2 should be out in about a week (publisher having fits with the printer) and the 3rd one is supposed to be done by March 1.  We shall see.

Here are my seven choices:

1) Madison Woods

2) JmMcDowell

3) Zoe

4)Arianna

5) I think in comics (I know you have written school papers > 7 pages)

6) 100stories… (how about the 7th one?)

7) Augustmclaughlin

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Trackbacks

  • By I’ve Been Tagged! « jmmcdowell on February 2, 2013 at 6:30 am

    […] while back, I was tagged by KindredSpirit23 in the Rule of 7 game. I really have to work on my running skills. I’m too easily tagged […]

    Like

  • By The Rule of 7 | Madison Woods on January 25, 2013 at 3:29 pm

    […] is called the “Rule of 7“ and Scott Vanatter  passed it on to me. No telling how many of you have already done this. You […]

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Beauty lies within yourself

The only impossible journey in life is you never begin!! ~Tanvir Kaur

Saania's diary - reflections, learnings, sparkles

Life is all about being curious, asking questions, and discovering your passion. And it can be fun!

North Noir

DETECTIVE FICTION - A.M. Potter | AUTHOR SITE and BLOG

carly books

I read lots of books, from mythology retellings to literary fiction and I love to reread books from childhood, this is a place to voice my thoughts for fun. I also like to ramble about things such as art or nature every now and again.

Ipsa.rb

QUALITY LIFE

. . .

love each other like you are the lyric to their music

READING & WRITING TO MAKE MEANING OF THE WORLD AND BEYOND

We are all Kindred Spirits; connected in Life

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

A Poet's Vision

"kindness is healing, writer & poet of sorts, "