Special Agent – 00Vannatter

Okay, no private helicopter, no sniper rifle, not even a shoe with a phone in it, however, I did do some good work as a security guard for a downtown firm back in the day.

Here’s the scoop:

When I was in my 20s, I worked for a private company as a security guard.  The company had several buildings that had to be watched and we would drive around, do our work, and notice things.

One day while we were out, I noticed a couple of very nice boxes under the trash dumpster at the back of the building.  I was moving and needed some good boxes to use for packing.  Every box cut down on expenses, so, I wanted those three.

When I stopped and got out of the car, I went over to the boxes.  I grabbed one and tried to pick it up.  It must have weighed 50 pounds!  It certainly wasn’t the empty box I thought.  I hoped it was just junk and that I could empty it into the dumpster and take the boxes, so I opened them.  Inside one of the boxes was 50 smaller boxes of some type of bolt (a bolt is a combination of a flat-bottomed screw with a nut attached as a set).  They were brand new.  I didn’t know what to make of them, so I took one, left the other two, and headed over to my boss’s office.

When I arrived and showed them to him, he looked in amazement.  They were boxes of racing bolts, specially made to resist vibrations from the engine.  They were very expensive – I am thinking $50 a box and there were 150 small boxes total.  He told me to stop doing what I was doing and find a vantage point to watch the other two boxes.  He said he would sent someone to relieve me when my shift was over.

No, they didn’t really look much like these.

I planted myself under the Interstate about 100 feet or so from the dumpster and watched for a long time.  Eventually, my relief came and I went home.

The next day, all heck had broken loose.  Apparently, the 2nd shift guard had watched as a car drove up and two guys got out and picked up the two remaining boxes.  I guess there was a little commotion as there were supposed to be three boxes, but it happened anyway.

As it turned out, there was a custodian in the building who took the boxes and put them in with the trash, hauled them outside, separated them, and put them beside the dumpster.  Then, they were to be picked up later.  It seems that the people who took the boxes owned a race car or had a close friend or family member who did.

Not me…this guy gets paid, I think, to testify.

They were all arrested and I had to testify in court.  I had never done this before and was a bit nervous.  The prosecution questioned me, then up came the defense attorney.  He started by asking me where I worked.  I told him and he said, basically, that I mentioned I worked at an incorporated company.  He wanted to know how I could know this without seeing the official documents from the county or state.  I looked at him like he was weird and just said that it says, “Inc.” on every piece of paper the company gives me.  Then he asked me about the custodian.  He wanted to know how I could be sure the custodian actually worked for the company.  I looked at him again and said that I see him in the building most every day doing things a custodian does for the company.  He started again and the judge stopped him.  He was trying to discredit me and the judge was tired of it.

I am not certain what all actually happened as a result.  I believe the company got all the boxes returned; I believe the people involved were fired.  Other than that, I just felt good knowing I had done a good job for my company.

It was exciting!  Mustn’t leave that out!

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Trackbacks

  • By Who Me? I’m Not Afraid! | Kindredspirit23's Blog on March 11, 2013 at 10:01 pm

    […] I talked about my work as a security guard in closing down a theft ring in our company.  There were other less important, but just as exciting jobs and circumstances that […]

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

sipofwellness

sip by sip guide to live well

wordsandotherthings.wordpress.com/

she is confidence in shadows.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Debbie Gravett

Word painter and story slave

Pam Grout

#1 New York Times best-selling author

The Storyteller's Abode

Enter a world of make believe!

Love it Now

Love is ever-present within our own Being but we might not feel it until we live in the Now. "Love it Now" was created to share ideas about loving and being present in the here and now. Enjoy!

