Two Fer One…

I had a post scheduled for tonight and, when I went to write it out, I didn’t care for it anymore.  There have been two main things on my mind in the last couple of days.

First, last night a friend and I went to see “Gatsby”.  It was more for her as I wasn’t entirely hooked on the idea.  I wasn’t being magnanimous or anything, I will go to see almost any movie.  I simply was not expecting much.

I was wrong, at least, by the time the movie was over.  It was involved, fairly complex, and the acting was very good.  Anything that was overdone made sense for the piece.

I don’t do spoilers very often, and I won’t now.  I won’t tell you all about it, in case, as was with me, you didn’t read the book.  I know the entire movie kinda exploded with about 1/2 hour or so left and it was about 2 1/2 hours long.  But, when it was done, the responses from the audience were decent.  I heard a “followed the book pretty well” and a similar comment from my friend.  While it wasn’t a grand action movie, it was a grand movie.  It was the 20s and that was a period with flair and style.  The movie had that and portrayed that.  The 20s is not my favorite time period, but I liked it just the same.

I would give it a B.

The other thing my mind has been on was “Star Trek: into Darkness”.  We went to see that today (Sat.).  We went to a 4:40 matinee showing of the 2D version and it had quite a few in it.  It wasn’t packed, but 3/4 full anyway.  The movie was huge; it kinda blew me away.  I loved the cameos; I enjoyed the reminders of movies past.  I like(d) the new characters for the old molds.  It all worked.  And the surprises were there, too.  If you can sit through this entire movie and not smile, grimace, cry, or scream then you are not paying any attention.  This one is a roller coaster of a ride.  It is the sequel to the sequel of one of the greatest sci-fi ideas ever created and they did not disappoint.

I give this one an A+.  I found nothing wrong with it bar a little unbelievability, which fits it anyway.

I hope your weekend has gone and continues to go well.

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Becki Duckworth  On May 25, 2013 at 3:41 pm

    I am looking forward to Gatsby…. I may be one of the few that walked out of the original Star Trek movie after 30 minutes I was so bored my date and I left… I have never watched the rest of it…

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On May 25, 2013 at 3:55 pm

      I did not care much for the original (did like the end, but Kirk always had a flare for those).
      This last Star Trek was nearly unbelievably good, at least, for me. I wouldn’t mind seeing it again.

      Like

  • lazylauramaisey  On May 20, 2013 at 2:00 am

    Im so glad to read a positive review of Gatsby. I’m also glad you pointed out that it was written in an age of decadence so anything about the film which shows that is more authentic to his writing.

    Like

  • Larry  On May 19, 2013 at 5:40 pm

    Appreciste your reviews!

    Like

  • thehappyhugger  On May 19, 2013 at 1:35 pm

    Glad you enjoyed both those movies, Scott. 🙂

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

Just Joyfulness

Celebrating joy

Sascha Darlington's Microcosm Explored

Sascha Darlington emerges from her cocoon to investigate her world.

