Synchronicity and the Tire

For those unfamiliar with the term “synchronicity” or, at least, not familiar with how I tend to use it, it is when two or more events happen which appear different, but revolve around each other.

Google states: “Synchronicity is the experience of two or more events that are apparently causally unrelated or unlikely to occur together by chance, yet are experienced as occurring together in a meaningful manner.”

Please keep this in mind while I tell my tale of a tire, but don’t fret, as I will connect the dots near the end.

I have a new house cleaner.  She is wonderful.  She cleans so thoroughly it is just amazing.  The most recent problem, though, is that she didn’t have a car to get to my house Tuesday to clean.  As I don’t work, and so, am home most of the time, I offered to pick her up and bring her to the house so she could clean this week.  She agreed and we set up 10:30am as the time for me to arrive.

I didn’t want to be tired and groggy, so I went to bed very early for me and set my alarm for about 9:15.  I got up, ate, and then realized that I actually had some time to do a few things before picking her up.  I decided to wrap an book I had sold for our library to be mailed as an Amazon sale.  It was a huge and heavy book, 10lbs 2oz, and I worked hard to get it done.

About the time I got it finished, I received a text from my cleaning person telling me she could not leave the house until 11am.  I told her fine and decided that I would not only mail said package, but pick up my Rx, and pay my utility bill at the drive through.

Not the one in my town.

All went well up to paying the utility bill.  There was a utility truck and people working in the drive up, but not in the way of dropping off the bill.  However, as I tried to maneuver my little car in the area, I hit my front tire on the curb.  It made a loud “pop” sound, which made one of the utility people look up, but I had my CD player on and it was much softer to me inside the car.

I then drove the car to my Dad and Mom’s because I had received another text apologizing, but saying that my cleaning person was not able to leave just yet.  I stopped at my parents’ house to visit and to allow a text to be sent when I could go pick up my cleaning person.

We enjoyed the visit.  Dad had a service person from an auto shop come by to fix a small leak in my Dad’s van’s tire.  The gentleman arrived and was working on Dad’s tire.  Dad opened the window to make a comment to him and the man asked Dad if he also wanted him to fix the tire on the “Red” car:  mine.

I went out to take a look, thinking I had lost some air when I “popped” the tire earlier, only to find that it was completely flat and had a tear in it about an inch long.

Long story short, I had to have the tired replaced and I was not able to pick up my cleaning person, which worked out well as she ended up unable to leave due to a delay and her ill grandmother.

Yeah, about like that…

Rather than get angry, I just shrugged the entire mess off.  My Dad looked at me and said, “It sure is lucky that you came here.”  I told him that it wasn’t luck; My life worked this way since I decided to Trust God to simply take care of things.

Synchronicity – Realize at this point that, there were so many different things that could have happened to have me not be at my parents’ house just when they were having a person over to fix their tire.  A person who was able to replace the tire within hours and without having the car towed.  Further realize that, had I driven on to wait at my cleaning person’s house (as I had thought about) I would have been stranded on back roads with a flat tire and being disabled to boot.  Also see that had I not had to wait until 11, I would not have mailed the package for Amazon and it would not have been mailed that day at all, making it late and messing up my ratings.  And, finally, understand that the entire ordeal brought me back home about the time I would, normally, have gotten up from my nap and finished the same couple of tasks (ie: no time was lost).

This is the way my life truly goes now.  I don’t worry much.  I won’t say I never worry, but it is so much less that my blood pressure is excellent most of the time.  I don’t get stress headaches and I feel relaxed and calm, for the most part.

It took a stroke for me to understand all of this and how great it is to live without the big worries about how things will work out.  I hope that this story and my blog, in general, help you a little in understanding without all the mess.  Live a good life: don’t worry.  God is watching over us.

Namaste,

Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • robincoyle  On March 13, 2013 at 6:20 pm

    Something like my mail being delivered to the wrong house, right? By the way, I met her for coffee today. She is delightful and we are going to met on a regular basis and form our own mini writer’s group.

    Like

  • bobmielke  On March 13, 2013 at 10:36 am

    This is, indeed, an interesting tale of Murphy’s law with a God thing at the end. I consider myself truly blessed to be retired and loving every minute of it. Friends and family can’t believe I live on Social Security checks alone but I’m a simple sole who is accustomed to a Sparten lifestyle. Having survived gongestive heart failure I had to change my eating habits, exercise routine and lifestyle. I appreciate your encouraging outlook on life and plan on following your exploits. Know that you are not alone. God bless! – Bob

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On March 13, 2013 at 10:46 am

      Glad I am not alone and more glad to hear of it!
      Congrats to you that you have chosen the path and stuck to it!
      Scott

      Like

  • thehappyhugger  On March 13, 2013 at 9:00 am

    I so understand. It happens to me too now and then but people seldom seem to get it when I try to explain. Sometimes or rather often there is so much synchronicity going on that we aren’t even aware of.

    Like

  • John w Howell  On March 13, 2013 at 8:56 am

    Loved this. “Went to bed early to make a 10:30 appointment.” LOL – John

    Like

  • bert0001  On March 13, 2013 at 6:15 am

    I have a lot of synchronicities going on, already since a long time. The thing is that I started to take them for granted. So I don’t see them anymore unless I pay attention. What is that thing inside a human being that takes things for granted?

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On March 13, 2013 at 9:51 am

      Some might say the devil, which I do not believe in.
      Others would say many things.
      For me, it would be laziness, as, if I missed those things, I am obviously too tired to make the connections.
      Not a good thing for me.
      Scott

      Like

  • My son taught me about synchronicity, I love stuff like that!

    Like

  • behindthemaskofabuse  On March 12, 2013 at 11:45 pm

    All i can think is what the heck was the cleaning lady pulling….sorry

    Like

    • kindredspirit23  On March 13, 2013 at 12:07 am

      Sorry, I didn’t go into great detail. Her mom had to leave to pick her dad up and she was staying with her grandmother who is ill. There was a delay. Not pulling anything, but I can see why you might think that.
      Scott

      Like

    • kindredspirit23  On March 13, 2013 at 12:10 am

      I fixed the post. Thanks for pointing out that oversight on my part.

      Like

Trackbacks

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

The Journey of My Left Foot (whilst remembering my son)

I have Malignant Melanoma, my son had Testicular Cancer

Failing at Haiku

My poetry about flowers, faith, and family.

Thomas Carswell

Some kind of human

Christine's Collection

My streams of thought meet here

Michael Wynn

Musings from the edge of an English summer

Spiritual Biscuits

Another life journey with lots of English biscuits to nibble along the way.

Just Joyfulness

Celebrating joy

Sascha Darlington's Microcosm Explored

Sascha Darlington emerges from her cocoon to investigate her world.

