I Live My Life

I Live My Life
By Scott L Vannatter
September 14, 2012

I live my life just like a jet
Moving and running, never is set
My gait is wide open I am really alive
I am living my life; hey, I am five

I live my life just like a plane
I go here and there, not to be seen again
I hoop and I holler; I make such a din
I am living my life; hey, I am ten

I live my life just like a race car
I move here and there, both near and far
I can handle anything; though it looks like a zoo
I am living my life; I am twenty-two

I live my life just like an old Chevy
I move to new houses, though the tasks may be heavy
My job’s wearing thin; I’m tired of eating so late
I am living my life; I am thirty and eight

I live my life just like a shiny, new bike
I still climb those mountains, a wondrous hike
I tire of the old; I need to train a bit more
I am living my life; I am forty and four

I live my life just like a small deer
I still move quite well, just more around here
I am looking to settle with my piece of Heaven
I am living my life; I am fifty and seven

I live my life just like a small boat
I am still doing my work to keep us afloat
I am staying at home more; just you look and see
I am living my life; I am sixty and three

I live my life now more like a raft
Still doing some things like reading and craft
I am slow but I’m steady and still can have fun
I am living my life at seventy-one.

I live my life now like a wagon that’s pulled
I enjoy sleeping late and my memory’s dulled
I use a cane to go slowly but fine
I am living my life; I’m now eighty-nine

I’ve lived most of my life like one thing or other
I miss all my friends, my Dad and my Mother
I think I have done most what I will do
I still have my life at one hundred and two.

For all of you people who’ve passed through my reaching
I hope you will learn from all of my teaching
To live each year happy, not filled up with fear
I have lived all my life and was happy right here.

Namaste,
Scott

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Marisa  On September 15, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    Very beautiful, Scott!

    Like

  • Indira  On September 15, 2012 at 8:44 am

    Beautifully depicted all phases of life and what a great thing to be able to say ‘;
    To live each year happy, not filled up with fear
    I have lived all my life and was happy right here.’

    I Live My Life
    By Scott L Vannatter
    September 14, 2012

    I live my life just like a jet
    Moving and running, never is set
    My gait is wide open I am really alive
    I am living my life; hey, I am five

    I live my life just like a plane
    I go here and there, not to be seen again
    I hoop and I holler; I make such a din
    I am living my life; hey, I am ten

    I live my life just like a race car
    I move here and there, both near and far
    I can handle anything; though it looks like a zoo
    I am living my life; I am twenty-two

    I live my life just like an old Chevy
    I move to new houses, though the tasks may be heavy
    My job’s wearing thin; I’m tired of eating so late
    I am living my life; I am thirty and eight

    I live my life just like a shiny, new bike
    I still climb those mountains, a wondrous hike
    I tire of the old; I need to train a bit more
    I am living my life; I am forty and four

    I live my life just like a small deer
    I still move quite well, just more around here
    I am looking to settle with my piece of Heaven
    I am living my life; I am fifty and seven

    I live my life just like a small boat
    I am still doing my work to keep us afloat
    I am staying at home more; just you look and see
    I am living my life; I am sixty and three

    I live my life now more like a raft
    Still doing some things like reading and craft
    I am slow but I’m steady and still can have fun
    I am living my life at seventy-one.

    I live my life now like a wagon that’s pulled
    I enjoy sleeping late and my memory’s dulled
    I use a cane to go slowly but fine
    I am living my life; I’m now eighty-nine

    I’ve lived most of my life like one thing or other
    I miss all my friends, my Dad and my Mother
    I think I have done most what I will do
    I still have my life at one hundred and two.

    For all of you people who’ve passed through my reaching
    I hope you will learn from all of my teaching
    To live each year happy, not filled up with fear
    I have lived all my life and was happy right here.

    Like

Feel free to say something; I look forward to it!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Beauty lies within yourself

The only impossible journey in life is you never begin!! ~Tanvir Kaur

Saania's diary - reflections, learnings, sparkles

Life is all about being curious, asking questions, and discovering your passion. And it can be fun!

North Noir

DETECTIVE FICTION - A.M. Potter | AUTHOR SITE and BLOG

carly books

I read lots of books, from mythology retellings to literary fiction and I love to reread books from childhood, this is a place to voice my thoughts for fun. I also like to ramble about things such as art or nature every now and again.

Ipsa.rb

QUALITY LIFE

. . .

love each other like you are the lyric to their music

READING & WRITING TO MAKE MEANING OF THE WORLD AND BEYOND

We are all Kindred Spirits; connected in Life

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

A Poet's Vision

"kindness is healing, writer & poet of sorts, "